Marshall CODE 100c High End Issue

votes

I've been playing with my CODE 100 2x12" for about two months now and I've noticed no matter what I do to my amp settings(lower the treble, lower the presence/resonance, lower the tone setting of various fx, etc.) I still hear this metallic high end that can really be shrill at times. Is this an issue across all of the CODE amps or is there something I'm missing here with my settings and the combinations? My firmware is up to date as well. 

EDIT: I have now sat down and experimented with the amp again. I cannot get a tone without any super high treble. It's now bugging me to the point of wanting my money back. I have tried every possible combination of pre amp/power amp/cab, I have turned off each individually and still had the issue. I turned the treble all of the way down and turned the presence all of the way down and the tone is still shrill. I either have a faulty amp or this amp, in general, sounds like garbage. It sounded great at first but I didn't realize how bad it was because the noise only happens when you get about 8 feet away which is annoying because my audience hears all of this high end and no articulation. Please, if anyone has any information on this, let me know. My guitar has an extremely balanced tone(it plays fine through my two practice amps), the cables are all new, the firmware for the amp is up to date, and there is no electrical interference. Any idea as to what I should do, Marshall? I've been using your products for years and I love them but this has been disappointing .

edited 15 Mar 2018 at 07:22 PM

James Pilipovic II

asked 07 Mar 2018 at 03:38 PM

James Pilipovic II
Answers: 4

vote

The amps are a little bright so you need to make sure you back down the treble and presence down. Digital amps do tend to be much brighter than standard amplifiers so you would need to dial sound different to normal amps.

Marshall Support

answered 20 Mar 2018 at 09:15 AM

votes

Hi James,