Code 50 Line Out to a Mixer

votes

Does anyone have any tips for using the headphone jack on a Code 50 as a line-out to a mixer that goes into a PA system? I tried it over the weekendand it sounded terrible.

asked 23 Apr 2018 at 04:37 PM

Aaron Herbert (2)
I'm not an expert but the input of your mixer is what you need to consider
You maybe over driving it. Start with output very low to start.. hope that helps
- Christopher Gulley 30 Apr 2018 at 02:46 AM
Answers: 1

votes

Hi Aaron.

Have not been able to answer until now.

When you say "sounded terrible"???  Could you be a bit more specific???  If you mean "dry" and "harsh" then see below.

I spent way too may hours (days, weeks) trying to get the exact same sound as I was getting from the Marshall CODE itself (using the built in cab.) via USB or Line Out.  Didn't happen.  My solution: I run two CODEs (stereo) and both are micd. up to my mixer and then PA.  KILLER is all I can say.  There's just no substitute for the Marshall cabs. really (and, alright, mono vs. stereo is a personal preference I suppose).

May not be what you wanted to hear but this works 1 000% for me anyway.

Regards,

Dale.

answered 04 May 2018 at 07:09 PM

Dale Paterson (105)
I was going into a mixer then out to an IP2000 array. I think the issue may have been that I was trying to use a really poor quality cable. The volume was really low (I had to crank my amp volume) and sounded thin and weak. I was trying to use a cell phone type 3.5 mm cable adapted to the in a 1/4 connector I to the mixer. Would it be better to use a normal guitar cable with the 3.5mm to 1/4 adapter plugged into the code? - Aaron Herbert 05 May 2018 at 10:06 PM
Hi Aaron.