code 100H power - 412 power

votes

hi there,

i'm pretty new to the whole cabinet with heads mixing and matching, i have only used combo's before and i am wondering about the power output of the code 100H which should be 100 watts if i am correct but the 412 cabinet is rated at 200 watts? so are you kind of limited as to what the cabinet can do or how does the whole power rating work? i ordered the 100H and 412 cab but i just want to be sure i'm not missing out on something bcs the power rating isn't correct

thanks guys!

asked 30 Oct 2018 at 11:41 AM

joren vangoethem
Answers: 1

vote

Hi.

The CODE100H is rated at 100W RMS and the cab. is rated at 200W PEAK (as things should be).

But this gives rise to another question (just noticed this):

The other recommended cab. is the 212 but this is rated at only 100W according to the manual???  Doesn't make sense.

Unless (just thought of this): the 412 can be run in either mono or stereo and it could be that the power rating is stating 200W for BOTH channels???  If this is the case then it's not quite accurate now is it.

And by the way and for what it's worth: there's some question about which is louder i.e. a 412 or a 212.  The general consensus is that a 212 is louder simply because it's more efficient.

Anyways.  I'm keen to see some input here myself from Marshall.

Regards,

Dale.

edited 30 Oct 2018 at 04:00 PM

Dale Paterson (105)

answered 30 Oct 2018 at 03:49 PM

Dale Paterson (105)
i'm finding that they are only mono so i think we can erase that theory,
and okay they might be louder but chances are you are gonna blow a speaker if they are not really rated for the full power of the 100H right?
- joren vangoethem 30 Oct 2018 at 04:06 PM
Hi.

I agree with you for sure so better we wait for Marshall to confirm all of this.