Finding the perfect match!

vote

Hello, Marshall forum family.  I just purchased the CODE 100H (head only).  I have a Marshall cabinet with 4x12 MG series, and I hate the sound of this combination! Does anyone have advice for a replacement speaker?

Thank You All

Jon Doty

Lincoln, Nebraska

asked 24 Dec 2018 at 08:46 PM

jonathan doty (1)
Have you tried to disable cab sim in code? Maybe the sound will be better? - Denis Moysienko 25 Dec 2018 at 05:31 AM
Thanks, Denis, I have just that. I have a cabinet with the "MG-4x12" in it. Just wanting to know what others have done to create their own sounds? CODE cab, or another cab? If you're running off another cab? Then what speakers are you running? To be honest with everyone, I'm new to the Marshall line up. Mesa Boogie has been my previous experience. However, when I played the CODE amp it was the "50" combo, and it sounded incredibly great! I have been using Modeling software for a few years, "Amplitude 4 Mesa Boogie" package. That same package also comes with Amplitudes own version of Marshall amps. - jonathan doty 26 Dec 2018 at 12:03 AM
Answers: 3

votes

What do you mean "sound of this combination"? CODE series has 6 clean preamps (and a couple of overdriven or distorted), 4 power amps and 8 cabinets - I can't believe you are not able to find a setup that sounds OK with your hardware.

And forget about factory presets. Most of them are done to show the possibilities of this device. If you need the sound that fits your personal preferences - create your own.

answered 25 Dec 2018 at 05:58 PM

Jacek Klimkiewicz (234)