Is there any chances of contacting the amplifier research and development team ?

votes

Hello Guys,

i've been researching about Edward Van Halen Brown sound for 10 years. I mean the VH1 and VH2 albums.

I've tried many brown sound amps like the bray 4550, many plexis, sv20 and so on. I've come close with them but there always seemed to lack something.

because of that i've learn how to build amps to fulfill my quest and i think that by accident i found what was perhaps going on in eddie's amp. I believe i've perhaps built the best brown sound sounding amp and i want to share the mods i used with marshall.

I believe it was modded because in a biography released by journalist Neil Zlozlower José arredondo is interviewed and he said he created eddies tone with him and that the amp was really modded. José was at the end of his life and stopped modding amps he had nothing to win. Moreover eddie never denied this claimed from his biography. Then there is Rudy leiren which was eddie amp tour tech, josé was more the modding amp tech. Rudy leiren also admitted that the amp was modded. 

If Steve Fryette, Mike Solano, John Suhr and Dave friedman said that the amp was stock it's only because josé put the amp back to stock. Dave friedman even admitted in a live stream that half of the components were not stock but some had stock marshall values. here is a picture of Eddie's amp on the top (by dave friedman), the bottom one is a stock super lead 68 12309 8 numbers appart. :

See those cherry drop capacitors ? those were used a lot by José to mod amps. It's like one of his signatures.